Monday, September 28

Brookdale Newsroom

More Than 100 Honored at Employee Recognition Ceremony

On the eve of Commencement, when thousands of students would conclude their journey at Brookdale by accepting their degree, college employees took time out to recognize the faculty, staff and administrators who had helped make it all possible.

The 2015 Employee Recognition Ceremony, held May 14 on the Student Life Center patio, honored more than 100 Brookdalians for their achievements, their selflessness or their years of dedication to the college.

“This has been a glorious day so far,” said Brookdale President Dr. Maureen Murphy, referring to both the beautiful spring evening and the successful Scholars Day symposium held earlier that afternoon. “I want to thank all of you for coming here today and gathering together to recognize the good work that we have done at the college this year.”

Norah Kerr-McCurry presents William DeVoe with a 2015 Outstanding Administrator Award on May 14.

Norah Kerr-McCurry presents William DeVoe with a 2015 Outstanding Administrator Award on May 14.

This year’s honorees included: the 2015 Barringer Award winners; faculty members who were promoted or granted tenure; staff who received an official performance recognition; the graduates of Leadership Brookdale; eight faculty members who earned a new degree or professional certification; the 2014-15 members of Governance; dozens of retiring employees; three employees who were granted sabbaticals; members of the Supervisor Survival Series and the 2014-15 Atomic Learning advocates; members of Brookdale’s championship athletic teams; and the presidents of Brookdale’s four employee associations.

Special recognition was also given to five Brookdalians who passed away this academic year: Barbara Alberts, learning disabilities; Susan Carle, Performing Arts Center; Kevin Hayter, literature; Nagi Mina, physics; and Stacy Nekervis, English.

Murphy then presented gifts to 16 Brookdale employees who are celebrating 25 years of service with the college in 2015: Nancy Lenaghan; Jacqueline Kugit; Margaret Fischer-Jones; Thomas Setaro; Eric Malmros; Mohammad Shanehsaz; Geanna Merola; Denise Vigil; Patricia Blaser; Helen Vota; Nathaniel Stokes; Avis McMillon; Geraldine Young; Carol Schedel; Edward O’Neill; and Judith Lipke.

Brookdale Employee Volunteer Connection coordinator Rosemary Kochman presented the college’s Volunteer of the Year Award to Lisa Savage, senior office assistant with the Business and Community Development division; while Lynn Johnson and Frank DeVita presented Outstanding Staff Awards and gift certificates to 17 college staff members.

Teaching and Learning Center Director Norah Kerr-McCurry presented 2015 Peer Recognition Awards to Sarah McElroy, Joan Rudinski, Jennifer Jordan, Jonathan Shaloum and William Burns; while the 2015 Outstanding Administrator Awards went to Laura Longo, Hilda Dudick, William DeVoe, Carol DiBuccio and Anne Padulchick.

Brookdale grants coordinator Dinneen Jackson also recognized the four faculty-led teams who received Brookdale Innovation Grants this year to carry out a wide range of professional development and project-based learning initiatives.

Click here to check out more photos of the 2015 Employee Recognition Ceremony.