Thursday, June 04

Brookdale Newsroom

Brookdalians Honored at 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony
Employees pose with wrapped gifts and certificates during the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony in the Student Life Center.

Dozens of Brookdale faculty, staff and administrators received some well deserved time in the spotlight on May 11 during the college’s annual Employee Recognition Ceremony, held in the Student Life Center in Lincroft.

On the eve of Brookdale’s 47th annual commencement, the final such ceremony that she would preside over, Brookdale president Maureen Murphy said the occasion was a bittersweet opportunity to thank some of the hundreds of colleagues who have worked tirelessly to help students succeed during her tenure.

“This is always one of my favorite days of the year, and one of our really wonderful opportunities to recognize the invaluable contributions of so many,” said Murphy, who will take over as president of the College of Southern Maryland this summer.  “Brookdale truly is a remarkable place.”

This year’s honorees included: the 2017 Barringer Award winners; faculty members who were promoted or granted tenure; staff who received an official performance recognition; six faculty members who earned a new degree or professional certification; the 2016-17 members of Governance; 20 retiring employees; two employees who were granted sabbaticals; players and coaches for Brookdale’s nationally ranked and regional champion athletic teams; the chairs of the college’s Middle States re-accreditation teams; four departmental teams that received Brookdale Innovation Grants; the Alpha Beta cohort of Leadership Brookdale; the 2016-17 Outstanding Supervisor Award winners; and the presidents of Brookdale’s four employee associations.

Nancy Noe (left) is honored for 25 years of service during the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony on May 11.

Nancy Noe (left) is honored for 25 years of service during the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony on May 11.

Special recognition was also given to nine beloved Brookdalians who passed away this academic year: Lee Blaustein; Carl Francese; Irma Lester; Laurence McNamara; James Merrigan; Carol Murphy; James Palumbo; Seymour Siegler; and Stuart Thomas.

Murphy then presented gifts to six Brookdale employees who celebrated 25 years of service with the college in 2017: Blanca Kopacz; Nancy Noe; Paulette Walker; Linda Wang; Townsend Weeks; and Robert Yamello.

Brookdale Employee Volunteer Connection member Helen Vota presented the college’s Volunteer of the Year Award to Erik Johanson, studio and laboratory assistant for Brookdale’s fine art programs.

Outstanding Staff Awards and gifts were presented to Margaret Agha; Deicy Ahmad-Chaustre; Eunice Clark; Tara Deedmeyer; Carolyn Dennis; Frank DeVita; Robert Gant; Amy Gingold; Erik Johanson; Sally Kimble; Jennifer Lucero; Dawn Murray; Michelle Paci; Pamela Rogers; Denise Russo; Teresa Silletti; Carol Slaughter; Maryann Stengel; Nathaniel Stokes; and Shanna Williams.

Outstanding Administrator Awards and gifts went to Debbie Almeida; Lauren Brutsman; Joan Scocco; Sherri Vanderspiegel; and Timothy Zeiss.

Peer Recognition Awards and gifts were presented to Peggy Austin; William Burns; Herbert Cohen; Katherine Edward; and Anne LaPorta.

View the full list of honorees here.

Check out more photos of the Employee Recognition Ceremony here.