Tuesday, February 25

Brookdale Newsroom

Brookdale Foundation Elects New Leadership Team

The Brookdale Community College Foundation’s Board of Trustees has welcomed three new members and elected a new team of officers, including new board president Candy Langan-Sattenspiel.

Langan-Sattenspiel, a Brookdale alumna and Manalapan resident, is a registered nurse and plastic and cosmetic surgical assistant who also serves as administrator for the Sattenspiel Surgical Arts Pavilion in Freehold. She is also co-chair of the annual Brookdale Scholarship Ball.

Peggi Shader-Gother, a West Long Branch resident and assistant vice president of the Spring Lake office of Investors Bank, has been elected vice president of the foundation.

Elaine Boyko, a Tinton Falls resident and vice president of cash management services for OceanFirst Bank, will serve as treasurer. Middletown resident Brian Burriss, the foundation’s newly elected secretary, is the managing director for Wells Fargo Advisors in Red Bank.

All of the new officers have been elected for a two-year term.

The new leadership team will help carry on the vital work of the foundation, which provided nearly $380,000 in scholarships and grants to deserving Brookdale students last year, said Executive Director Timothy Zeiss.

“Over the last fifteen years, the foundation has provided over $3.5 million in scholarships and grants to over 6,000 students,” Zeiss said. “Our members are passionate about the Brookdale community and committed to assisting our students in any way they can.”

Three Monmouth County residents have also been elected to serve as new trustees on the board, each for a three-year term.

Roseann Weber, a Shrewsbury resident, is a former regional vice president with the American Cancer Society, Jersey Shore Region.

Manalapan resident Phyllis Chaplin is a broker associate with Coldwell Banker Commercial in Howell and the founder of Chaplin Advertising, a full service marketing, advertising and public relations agency.

David Calvert, a Middletown resident, is president of Matrix Engineering Inc., a consulting firm based in Red Bank. He is also President of Matrix Ventures LLC, an oil spill response organization.

Six current foundation board members have also been reappointed to new three-year terms, including Brookdale graduate and Tinton Falls resident Jody Calendar.

Holmdel residents Dennis DeVito, John “Jack” McEnery and Jim Tignanelli have also been reappointed to the board, along with Colts Neck resident Andy Vitale and Toms River resident and former foundation president Domenick Servodio.

The new and reappointed members will join the existing foundation trustees: immediate past president Bettina Munson, Karen Escobedo, Robert Honecker Jr., Lisa Malleus, James McNamara, Richard Sorrell and William Toms.

Zeiss and Brookdale President Dr. Maureen Murphy continue to serve as ex-officio board members. Brookdale Board of Trustees member Gary Tolchin serves as liaison to the foundation and Lore Milione serves as the foundation’s development coordinator.

PICTURED ABOVE: Candy Langan-Sattenspiel (center) stands with Brookdale Foundation board member Karen Escobedo, Dr. Maureen Murphy, Carol Stillwell and Timothy Zeiss at the 2014 Scholarship Ball.